Surprise Me!

Arsenal star William Saliba is caught in an awkward mix-up as he appears to admit Martin Odegaard's handball WAS a Liverpool penalty

2023-12-24 17 Dailymotion

William Saliba was caught in an awkward mix-up after Arsenal's 1-1 draw with Liverpool on Saturday, as he appeared to admit that Martin Odegaard's handball in the first half was a penalty for the opposition.<br /><br />The Gunners skipper slipped and handled the ball in the area shortly after Gabriel had given Mikel Arteta's side an early lead at Anfield. <br /><br />Referee Chris Kavanagh waved away the passionate protests of Liverpool players, while VAR David Coote decided not to instruct the official to take a second look at the pitchside monitor. <br /><br />Odegaard's intervention - however accidental - denied Mohamed Salah an opportunity to bear down on the Arsenal goal and Reds fans were even more incensed when it appeared that Saliba agreed with them.<br /><br />During his post-match press duties, Saliba thought he was asked about a separate penalty claim made by Arsenal team-mate Kai Havertz, confusing as it appeared he was siding with the Liverpool camp over Odegaard's spot-kick claim.<br /><br />'Yeah, of course,' the 22-year-old chuckled in an interview with Viaplay after he was asked about the incident. <br /><br />'It was a penalty but I’m not the ref and they have to accept it.<br /><br />Former Reds defender and Sky Sports pundit Jamie Carragher latched on to Saliba's comments, thinking he was referring to the Odegaard incident, and claimed that VAR had also missed a 'blatant' handball in Aston Villa's 1-1 draw with Sheffield United. <br /><br />Blades defender George Baldock got away with a decision after appearing to move his arm towards the ball in the box. <br /><br />Carragher claimed during commentary on Friday night that he believed it to be worthy of a spot-kick and he reiterated his point on social media. <br /><br />'It was a penalty & the man of the match knows it!' Carragher wrote on X, formerly Twitter. 'Two blatant penalties for handball in the last two nights & VAR don’t get involved.'<br />

Buy Now on CodeCanyon